Live Support
SchoolTutoring Submission Error - Please provide a valid contact phone number.
Close
Not a member yet? Register now and get started.
lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Kristopher B

Certified English Tutor

Brock University

Major: Contemporary Cultural Studies (Popular Culture)

Graduate School / Other Certifications (e.g. Teaching / Masters / PhD): Network Engineering Diploma from Trios College; Undergraduate degree from Laurier University in Children's Education and Development, Contemporary Studies and Geography.

About Me

Subjects

In English, I tutor from the first grade (phonics/semantics of language) up to college-level (thesis development, Higher-Order-Thinking-Skills, and grammar). I also provide tutoring in math up to Grade Eight. Furthermore, I aid students in geography, earth sciences and social studies.

Educational Philosophy

EVERY student deserves to learn and find success. Inherently, teachers should never prejudge any child's cultural/SES or racial circumstances. Moreover, they should provide nurturing, self-esteem building concepts in ALL lessons and gradually increase the pace of the lesson as the student advances. "Bloom's Taxonomy" is a perfect model to explain/implement HOTS (higher-order-thinking-skills) and foster these in children at an early age. Lastly, the curriculum needs to be made relevant; thus allowing students to make personal connections to the expectations at-hand.

Educational Background

I have a Network Engineering Diploma from Trios College. I obtained an undergraduate degree from Laurier University in Children's Education and Development, Contemporary Studies and Geography. I received a Master's degree in Contemporary Cultural Studies (Popular Culture) at Brock University. I also have a Bachelor's of Education from Laurier University. Since becoming accredited, I undertook additional qualification courses for special education and high school teaching subjects in social studies and geography. I continue to attend various Professional Development courses and meetings.

Teaching Experience

I am a certified teacher with three years of classroom experience and over seven years of differentiated tutoring experience. This profession has allowed me to diversify my instruction; I have worked with students ranging from the first grade right up to the college level. I have extensive experience working with special needs students and making accommodates for their learning situation.

Extracurricular Activities

When I am not helping students 'achieve their full potential', I enjoy participating in my fantasy football league. On weekends, I can be found playing soccer and watching sports via live broadcast.