Login Get started

Contact an Academic Director1-877-545-7737


Tutoring Options: All States >> Colorado >> Lakewood >> Diane O.

Diane O

English Tutor

University of Iowa

Majors: English

Minors: Sociology

Other Certificates: M.A., Educational Technology; Teaching Certification: Colorado

About Me



All students deserve an intensive, individualized educational plan that affords them a high class learning experience. All students should have the same educational opportunities regardless of background. Teachers should inspire and encourage students to want to be life long learners. Teachers should also work with students to promote respect, responsibility, and integrity in education and life.


I have a Bachelor’s Degree in English with specialized training in Secondary English Education from the University of Iowa College of Education. Coursework included Modern Literature, Shakespeare, Creative Writing, Fiction, Non-Fiction, composition, APA/ MLA citation. I also received a minor in Sociology with courses in Criminology, Social Deviance and Juvenile Delinquency.

After completing my Bachelor’s Degree, I then completed a Master’s Degree in Educational Technology. Courses included MS Office, Curriculum Design, Online Development, Human Resources, Parent Communication and Assistive Technology. I am certified to teach in the state of Colorado.


I completed my teacher education training with various tutoring and student teaching experiences in a high school setting. I student taught in 10th Grade Language Arts in Thronton, CO for Fiction, Non-Fiction, essay writing, implemented lesson plans and helped individual students.

I have taught ages 13-20 at a juvenile prison facility in Read 180 and Language Arts- integrated comic books into curriculum, lesson planning and implementation, classroom management skills. I currently substitute teaching with Denver School of Science and Technology in all areas for grades 6-12.


I worked with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Colorado for 2 years as a mentor/Big Sister and went on various outings with my little sister. I enjoy crafting and making art, sewing, and jewerly making. I also enjoy camping and outdoor festivals where I can contribute to the community by volunteering at the festival for various activities.