• Sign-In

Call Toll-Free: 1-877-545-7737

Speak with a SchoolTutoring Academic Director


Tutoring Options: All States >> New Mexico >> Las Cruces >> Yolonda P.

Yolonda P

English, SAT Tutor

New Mexico State University

Majors: B.A., English

Other Certificates: M.A., English; Ph.D., Education; TSOL Certification; TEFL Certification

About Me



Parents and community members tell their own stories, which itself engendered a form of historical consciousness of how they came to be where they are now. My Grandmother being denied the opportunity of education implanted in me the importance of attending and completing school for everyone. I learned to tenaciously encourage students not to fear difficulty, but instead to feel comfortable with their challenges and accomplishments. An important kernel of my decision to commit my life to the education of others, is that the focus is on the student. It is my life’s commitment to provide education for all individuals, and my conception of an educator’s role is to move from provider of knowledge to facilitator of education, and as a contributor to students becoming self-reliant and innovative.


I have a PhD in Education with a focus on Curriculum and Instruction from New Mexico State University (NMSU). I specialize in Learning Technologies with a minor in Rhetoric and Professional Communication. I have both BA and MA degrees in English from Pennsylvania State University and Kutztown University respectively. In addition, I am a certified TSOL/TEFL specialist.


I have over 14 years of experience establishing cultures of learning at various levels, both on-line and face to face teaching experiences, ranging from technical and community college to university classrooms.

I have significant experience in training and teaching Developmental English, English, Education, and Technology courses. I also have significant experience in academic technology, distance and outreach learning, and possess experience in the delivery of educational opportunities to a wide range of people and institutions in various settings.


I try to go to the gym five times a week, and I have regular attendee of spinning classes. I enjoy spending quality time with my seven year old daughter, and taking her hiking. I also enjoy live music, and I often see various shows!
Call us now toll-free


Discuss your academic goals

Start a Chat

Get all the latest infomation

Subscribe to our Blog