Tutoring Options: All States >> Ohio >> Risingsun >> Tammy G.

Tammy G

Math, Science, English, Elementary Education Tutor

Grand Canyon University

Majors: Elementary Education and Secondary Education

Other Certificates: Bachelor of science in Hazardous Materials Management and a minor in chemistry

About Me



Each student is unique and that is a very important factor in terms of the education of that student. Learning is different and should not be taught the same way to each student. As a teacher you have to be thinking constantly; what is not working and why.

I listen intently to what the students are saying. Much of the time there is either hesitation or distraction which happens because they do not know the information. Hence they need it explained and they need to be given examples. Allowing the students to ask questions will give them more help to find out what they need to excel. As a teacher, I look past any barriers or limitations, giving students the encouragement and knowledge that will allow them to learn anything.


I have a bachelor of science in Hazardous Materials Management and a minor in chemistry, from the University of Findlay. I have a master’s in both Elementary Education and Secondary Education from Grand Canyon University. I have taught in a charter school environment.


I have been tutoring for four years. I first started with a local company that was helping students that could not pass their Ohio Achievement Assessments. While I was tutoring for this local company, I was finishing my degree in Elementary Education from Grand Canyon University. Once I got my degree, I began working for TutorJam two and half years ago. I received my master’s in Secondary Education 7-12, in April of 2012.

I enjoy working with all students, which makes my job much easier. Before I became a tutor, I was a home based daycare provider for the state of Ohio for 10 years. I have worked with children ages 0-14 in my home. I understand the differences in learning and consider those ideals when working with students. I know how important parents are and always try to involve them in the learning experience.


I am a mother first, I have three girls that I home school. Next, would be our dairy goats. We have 20 dairy goats, during kidding time that number will go to 40-50. The girls are allergic to cow’s milk – that is what started the goat population. My girls also compete at the Ohio State Fair annually, and show their goats around the state at sanction American Dairy Goat Association shows. We also have rabbits, dogs, cats, and chickens. My husband and I are 4-H advisers during the months of February through September. I love to be outside, I have my flowers, garden, and yard work that I enjoy.