Tutoring Options: All States >> Ontario >> Ottawa >> Kimberly E.

Kimberly E

English, Social Studies, Geography, History Tutor

University of Ottawa

Majors: Communication and Education

Other Certificates: M.A., Instructional & Curriculum Design; Teaching Certification: Ontario

About Me



My teaching career has exposed me to many diverse students and I consider my ability to plan and adapt lessons based on the wide-ranging learning styles and needs of my students one of my greatest strengths. My success rests largely upon my ability to build student relationships, working to identify specific needs and developing an appropriate curriculum to build on individual talents.
I believe it is important to teach students to develop critical and analytical skills, and I am committed to creating a learning environment that stimulates and encourages students to think creatively. My main objective is to improve students’ learning and understanding, teaching each student how to use their mind and strengthen their individual skills.
Students today require a positive and strong role model in which to look up to. Mutual respect, open communication, and honesty are the key workings of a great student-teacher relationship.

As a teacher, my ultimate goal is to foster a nurturing and structured learning environment that engenders high academic standards, clear student expectations, and heightened accountability. Most importantly, learning should be relevant, student-focused, and fun.


Having initially completed my undergraduate degree in Communication from the University of Ottawa, I have since completed my Bachelor of Teacher Education. I am presently in the midst of the application process for my Masters of Education in Instructional & Curriculum Design.


I have 5-years of combined professional teaching experience. I taught English, History, and Geography to special-needs students for 1-year at the high school level. Additionally, I have taught adult learners full time at a local private college for the past 3 years in the field of community and social services.


As an avid outdoors enthusiast, you will find me hiking, kayaking, and stand-up paddling in my free time; extreme weather is no obstacle. I have traveled the globe extensively and find great pleasure in learning cultural customs, sampling local food, and learning languages. I have an immense passion for the opera, current affairs, and reading textbooks for pleasure.