Login Get started

Contact an Academic Director


Tutoring Options: All States >> California >> San Diego >> Jane W.

Jane W

Math, English, Languages, ACT Tutor

University of California, Berkeley

Majors: English Literature

About Me



My educational philosophy is very simple. I try to remember all the learning blocks that I had as a young student and I try to address them in my students.

No matter what material it is I am teaching, I try to be very patient and leave a lot of room for questions to be asked. I believe that in teaching, the instructor must have a truly genuine interest in her student’s success. The idea of success, for me, also extends beyond the curriculum; I want to instill good study habits and learning methods for future success as well. Overall, I would describe myself as a helpful tutor. I am just here to help.


I received a Bachelor’s degree in English Literature from the University of California, Berkeley (UCB) in May of 2012. During the course of my collegiate studies, I also completed elective units in creative writing courses.

Aside from tutoring, I am an aspiring law student and am currently in the process of completing law school applications. I hope to venture into the field of U.S. immigration law.


My name is Jane and I am a 23-year-old recent college graduate living in California. I have been tutoring professionally for about two and half years now; I began volunteering at after-school tutoring programs in the Oakland, CA area.
I also have teaching experience at the University of California, Berkeley, where I both created and instructed a 2-unit course on Burmese politics for a total of two semesters. Currently, I tutor mainly on the topics of math and English (ranging from a second grade level to a high school level) and I also tutor Spanish.


In my free time, I love reading a good book, watching TV, hiking, swimming, spending time with family and friends, and cooking (or trying to cook, at least). I also have a 4-year-old maltese named Bubba (I am a huge dog lover) and I especially love taking him on walks around my neighborhood.

I also live in San Diego so I enjoy spending my days at the beach (when the weather permits).