Tutoring Options: All States >> New York >> Bayside >> Sang K.

Sang K

Math, Science, English Tutor

Cornell University

Majors: General Biology

Minors: East Asian Studies

Other Certificates: Bachelor of Arts

About Me



As an avid reader and a learner, I believe that the purpose of education is to constantly question the status quo, to approach tasks objectively and to continue learning. Our education does not end with a degree, a grade, or a diploma, but is a life-long process and a philosophy that we must practice and cultivate everyday.


I attended Bayside High School, a public school in Bayside, New York, and graduated in 2008. Then, I majored general biology and minored East Asian studies at college of Arts and Science in Cornell University in Ithaca, NY. I attained my Bachelor of Arts in 2012 and currently attend New York College of Podiatric Medicine (expected graduation 2018).


During my gap year between my graduation of undergraduate to graduate school, I taught at a private teaching institution for 9 months, teaching 7th and 8th grade mathematics, covering geometry, pre-algebra, arithmetic and algebra, preparing group of students for the Specialized High School Admission Test (SHSAT). In the meantime, I also taught biology for Advanced Placement Exam and SAT II as a private tutor.


I like to study foreign languages. During my high school years, I took Spanish for two years and in college, I took Mandarin Chinese for a semester. Although I am hardly fluent in those two languages, I continued my study after graduating from college. I self-studied Mandarin Chinese for 6 months, reaching an intermediate level of carrying out basic conversation, reading essential characters and retaining substantial vocabulary. Currently I am studying Spanish, attending a class every week.


I received a 2140 on the SAT, consisting of a 780 on Math, and a 680 on Verbal and Writing. Later I took the MCAT, receiving a 26 with my scores distributed as follows: Physical Science 9, Verbal 8, Biological Science 9, Writing Q.