• Sign-In

Get Help from SchoolTutoring Academy Get Help from SchoolTutoring Academy Get Help from SchoolTutoring Academy Get Help from SchoolTutoring Academy Get Help from SchoolTutoring Academy

Call Toll-Free: 1-877-545-7737

Speak with a SchoolTutoring Academic Director
MENU

Alisha-M-English-Writing-Tutor-Whitefish-MT

Tutoring Options: All States >> Montana >> Whitefish >> Alisha M.

Alisha M

Math, Science, English, ACT Tutor

University of Montana

Majors: Elementary Education

Minors: Special Education

Other Certificates: University of Montana, MT with a Major in Integrating Arts into Education

About Me

SUBJECTS

EDUCATIONAL PHILOSOPHY

I believe that learning should be inspiring and explored through self-expression so students have a deeper understanding of the concepts being taught.
To delve deep into understanding, students need to connect to the concepts being taught through their background knowledge and real-life connections. I believe that the teacher’s role is to provide interesting thought-provoking questions so that the students are engaged and can explore the problem in a variety of fashions.

I believe that teaching should be student-driven and is authentic through valuable teachable moments. Teaching and learning should be playful and fun so that the students are excited to come back. I believe that a positive trusting relationship is the key to educational success with the students.

EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND

I received my MFA in Integrating Arts into Education and my BA in Education with an endorsement in Special Education. I have continued studies in behavior management, sensory integration and play therapy. I currently teach continuing education classes at the community college focused on how to teach the common core standards in a playful kinesthetic manner.

I have spent most of my career in special education and have worked with students with varying pervasive developmental disorders such as autism, emotional disturbance, attention deficit disorder and learning disabilities. I have worked diligently and passionately toward better serving the students I work with by connecting with them and making their school days more successful.

TEACHING EXPERIENCE

I have been teaching since 2004 at the Elementary level. This includes teaching Special Education classes and various Adult Learning Continuing Education Classes.

EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES

    I am a mother of two amazing children. My daughter 14 and my son is 11.
    I love to draw realistic pictures with charcoal, but am becoming a little more abstract with my current exploration of encaustic art, which is working with beeswax. I also love to garden and preserve my food through dehydrating and canning. I love to run and have placed a few times in full marathons. I am passionate about hiking and backpack camping as well.
Call us now toll-free

1-877-545-7737

Discuss your academic goals

Start a Chat

Get all the latest infomation

Subscribe to our Blog